Valiant Dawn Expansion Mechanics Explained

29/07/2016 by Ivko Stanilov

Here is a detailed look of the new mechanics we are introducing with the Valiant Dawn expansion. If you need more info or help don’t hesitate to visit our forums.

 

Slaves

 

Some creatures have the Slave keyword, which means “This creature can’t attack or block if you control more Slaves than non-Slave creatures”. In other words, when Slaves comprise the majority of your creatures, the Slaves start rebelling and disobey your orders.

 

Channeling

 

A card with the Channeling power allows you to spend energy from that card to pay towards the cost of playing certain types of other cards. The word “Channeling” is just a marker for the mechanic. The card text itself specifies the channeling rules in their entirety, including the type of cards you can use the energy for, e.g. Action cards.

Channeling FAQ

  • Channeling allows you to pay costs partially. The rest is paid using your mana crystals.
  • You can spend mana from multiple cards with channeling to pay for the play cost of a single card.

 

Level-Unlocked Powers

 

Some powers of certain cards require a specified level to apply. This is designated by listing the level requirement followed by a dash before these powers. The text of these powers is considered to not be present on the card at all unless the level requirement is fulfilled.

Level-Unlocked Powers FAQ:

  • If you no longer fulfill the level requirement, the level-unlocked power stops applying.
  • Activated powers can also be level-unlocked. You will only be able to use a level-unlocked activated power if the level requirement is fulfilled.

 

Modal Cards

 

There are cards that let you choose between two or more options, or modes. These cards start with the text “Choose one”, and can be either Action cards, or non-Action cards that enter the field when played.

Modal Cards FAQ:

  • For modal Action cards, the choice is made when the card is played.
  • For modal non-Action cards, the choice is made when the card is played, or if it enters the field in any other way, right before the card enters the field.
  • For modal non-Action cards, the game remembers the choice that was made as long as the card remains on the field. This is designated in-game by graying out all the rest of the rules text on the card.

 

Multi-Aspect Cards

 

Multi-aspect cards have a level requirement that includes more than one specific aspect. You need to have all the specified levels in order to play the card. These cards are considered to belong to all the aspects they require to be played, e.g. a single card can be both an Nature and a Wisdom card, and cards that search for Nature cards will be able to find it.

 

Distributing Damage

 

Some cards ask a hero to distribute a certain amount of damage among creatures he or she controls, or among a subset of these creatures.

Distributing Damage FAQ

  • You are allowed to divide up the damage in any way, but you can only allocate damage to a creature up to its current HP.
  • You are not required to allocate damage to all the creatures.
  • The entire amount of damage must be allocated if possible. If the damage to be distributed is more than the total HP of the affected creatures, each creature must be allocated maximum damage.
  • If a card says “Do X to all creatures that were dealt damage this way”, the specified effect X only applies to creatures that got allocated at least one point of damage, and only if the damage was actually dealt. For example, Shield Emblems can prevent this from happening.

 

Copying Cards

 

Copying cards is designated by a rule stating that “the card X becomes a copy of the card Y”. In this case, the entire face of the card X including its rules text gets replaced by the face of the card Y. However, any temporary effects, emblems, attachments, and cards under the card X remain, and continue applying their rules.

Copying Cards FAQ

  • Effects from the card being copied do not carry over to the card that becomes a copy. Only the card face – everything written or designated on the card – gets transferred.
  • The copied card elements are base mana cost, level requirement, base ATK, HP and SP, base card types, base card tags, energy, and rules text.
  • The copied and the copying card remain independent and have no connection whatsoever after the card copying is performed.
  • Unless otherwise specified, card copying is permanent and is in effect until the card that becomes a copy leaves the field.

 

Good luck! Have fun!