The forums are closed as we are moving all discussions into Discord.

Join our Discord server by following this link.

Just Starting? Here's what to play

Share your thoughts and decks!

Just Starting? Here's what to play

Postby VanguardX » Sat Mar 03, 2018 4:14 am

Hey there,

If you're just starting in Spellweaver, the fastest way to get better and get cards is to play the ranked ladder. In this series I'll post decks you can build quickly and use to climb the ladder.

Why should you listen to me?
I've been playing Spellweaver for about 2 years. I was a first-ballot hall of famer, I've won masters as many times as anyone, and I invented some of the decks I'll write about in this series.

Red Soldiers
In my opinion this is the best deck to start with as a new player. It's one of the better aggro decks and it builds quickly off the first deck you get. Red soldiers relies on a simple curve, so even if you don't have all the right cards you can build a version that is 80% as good as a perfect list just by getting the curve right. You'll be ready to build this deck almost as soon as you qualify to play on the ranked ladder.

Gameplan
You're almost always the beatdown deck, meaning you need to win first. You want to play aggressively, maintain board control, and end the game around turn 6. If the game goes much longer than that you're likely to lose.

The Hero
You're using Basic Alexa, the first hero you get when you start the game.

The Creature Curve
Your first level will be Order (gold) and your second level will be rage (red). You're usually going to get your second level when you have 2 mana or 3 mana.

1 Drops: Ideally you want 8 one drops: 4 steelhost spearmen and 4 sentry of the light. The other order options are relic guard and pegasus...and they aren't good in this deck. Put in as many steelhost spearmen and sentries as you can - and if you don't have 4 of each, put in more of the 2 drops.